Prof. Sudhir K. Jain

Adjunct Faculty

(Ph.D., IIT/K)

Prof. Sudhir K. Jain is currently Adjunct Professor at the Department of Management Studies, I.I.T. Delhi from where he superannuated in June 2017. Earlier he has served as Head of the Department of Management Studies, IIT Delhi during 2010-2012 and as Vice Chancellor, Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University, Katra (J&K) during February 2013 to March 2016. Previously, he also served as Executive Director, National Institute for Entrepreneurship & Small Business Development (NIESBUD) under the Ministry of MSME (Govt. of India) during 2002-2003.

He has published about 200 research papers in international/national journals/conference-proceedings. Over 25 distinguished scholars have obtained their Ph.D. degree under his supervision. He has undertaken several dozen Research & Consultancy Projects. He has also co-authored the book “Managerial Economics” with Prof. H. Craig Petersen and Prof. W. Chris Lewis of Utah State University (USA), published by Pearson Education in 2006.
Dr. Sudhir K. Jain has been a pioneer in IPR education in the country and has been associated with World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) in various capacities including Tutor for their international Distance Learning courses.

He has also been a member of several committees set up by the Government of India such as IPR Education Policy Committee (Ministry of HRD), National Entrepreneurship Policy Committee (Ministry of MSME), MHRD Technical Committee on WTO Matters (Ministry of HRD) etc.

Prior to joining I.I.T. Delhi in March 1985, he served as Assistant Professor (1980-85), Institute for Social & Economic Change, Bengaluru and as Assistant Director, ICSSR, Ministry of HRD, Govt. of India (1979-80). He was Visiting Professor, Mongolian Technical University, Ulaanbaatar in 1996.

Prof. Jain has extensively travelled abroad to over 30 countries for different academic activities. He is Fellow of Indian Society for Training & Development and has been Chairman of its Delhi Chapter and Vice President (North India). He is also an elected Member of the Council of All India Management Association.